Dates for your diary

19th August 2021 – Shortlist announced

19th October 2021 – Awards lunch at The Roundthorn Country House Hotel (all being well!)


2020 Winner – 101 Reasons to Enjoy the Lake District

The 2020 Lakeland Book of the Year has been announced as The Lake District in 101 Maps and Infographics by David Felton, Evelyn Sinclair and Andrew Chapman.

Announced virtually for the first time in the awards’ 36 year history, the winner, described by head judge Hunter Davies as an “…incredible book” features graphs, images and more covering almost every aspect of the Lake District’s culture and history, from tourism to ghosts.

Winner David Felton said “I was so pleased that Hunter, Fiona and Eric were able to find a way to make these awards happen, which play such a key role in the life of Cumbrian publishing. It has been a really tough few months for those of us working in the local book trade, and this was a really welcome boost for a book that I loved working on alongside illustrator Evelyn Sinclair and designer Andrew Chapman.”

A special mention was also made to runner up Slightly Perfect by John Cunliffe, who sadly passed away earlier this year after entering his entertaining memoir of a life in hospitality including his time at the Gilpin Hotel.

Coronavirus restrictions meant that the usual awards charity luncheon was unable to take place, but judges Hunter Davies OBE, Cumbria Tourism President Eric Robson and broadcaster Fiona Armstrong were determined not to cancel the ceremony entirely and instead broadcasted the announcements online. The video is available to watch below:

The awards, one of the most prestigious of their kind outside London, are kindly supported by the Cumbria Community Foundation Hunter Davies Fund, Striding Edge, Bookends, the Bill Rollinson Award Association and Latitude Press Ltd. The six category winners and overall 2020 Lakeland Book of the Year winner will be announced at on 30 June, with the news shared by @lakesbookawards on Twitter and Cumbria Tourism’s Facebook page.

The 2020 awards, taking place during the 250th anniversary of William Wordsworth’s birth, also included for the very first time a children’s poetry competition. Judges Michael McGregor (Director, Wordsworth Trust) and Ian Walker (Deputy Head, John Ruskin School) received an amazing range of poems from across the county, eventually deciding on three fantastic pieces of writing which they felt best reflected the theme of “The loveliest spot – what Cumbria means to me”.

The poetry competition winners are:

1st Place – The Rope Swing by George Hathorn

2nd Place – My Loveliest Spot is a Secret by Grace Hill

3rd Place – Dancing Grass by Eliza Hudson


The 2020 Lakeland Book of the Year winners are:

The Striding Edge Prize for Guides and Places

Grasmere: A History in 55 ½ Buildings by Grasmere History Society


The Bill Rollinson Prize for Landscape and Tradition

Hows and Knotts: A Guide to Lakeland Views by Guy Richardson


The Latitude Press Prize for Illustration and Presentation

The Lake District in 101 Maps & Infographics by David Felton, Evelyn Sinclair and Andrew Chapman


The Bookends Prize for Literature and Poetry

The Magpie’s Nest by Taffy Thomas


People & Business

Slightly Perfect by John Cunliffe



Secrets of the Flock by J.B. Browne


Lakeland Book of the Year 2020

Winner – The Lake District in 101 Maps & Infographics by David Felton, Evelyn Sinclair and Andrew Chapman

Runner Up – Slightly Perfect by John Cunliffe


Want to hear more about the Lakeland Book of the Year Awards?

Click here to subscribe to email updates.