Lakeland Book of the Year 2023: Winners Revealed

by | Jul 12, 2023 | News

Lakeland Book of the Year 2023 Winners

Award-winning photographer Amy Bateman has scooped the 2023 Hunter Davies Lakeland Book of the Year Award for ‘Forty Farms’ – a visual record of farming in Cumbria seen through the eyes of 40 extraordinary farmers.

As well as winning her individual category, Amy beat more than 50 entries to win the overall accolade at yesterday’s charity awards ceremony at The Inn on the Lake in Glenridding, where an audience of more than one hundred people had gathered to hear more about the shortlisted books.

The full list of category winners for Lakeland Book of the Year 2023 includes:

The Bill Rollinson Prize for Landscape & Tradition
Forty Farms, Amy Bateman

The Latitude Press Prize for Illustration & Presentation
My Lakeland, Jim Watson

The Bookends Prize for People & Business
Between Before and After, Edita Mujkic

The Wordsworth Prize for Literature & Poetry
163 Days, Hannah Hodgson

The Eric Robson Striding Edge Productions Prize for Guides & Places
Extreme Lakeland, Nadir Khan and Tom McNally

The Gilpin Hotel Prize for Fiction
The Bingo Hall Detectives, Jonathan Whitelaw

Amy Bateman, author of Forty Farms and winner of the Hunter Davies Lakeland Book of the Year Award comments “Winning this award is just amazing, it’s very overwhelming. It’s for the farmers, couldn’t have done it without them. If they hadn’t welcomed me to their tables and told me their stories and let me photograph them, some of them in some of the darkest times then this book would not have happened. I am very grateful to every single one of those 40 farmers for letting me into their doors.”

Head judge Fiona Armstrong adds “This is one of the strongest literary fields we have had. It has been so hard to decide who wins and who is shortlisted. We have worked our way through a treasure trove of beautifully crafted and presented books. Which just shows how much talent there is here in Cumbria, and how much interest there is further afield in writing about the county.”

This year’s annual ceremony also raised more than £1200 in support of PAPYRUS (Prevention of Young Suicide in the UK), a charity dedicated to the prevention of suicide and the promotion of positive mental health and emotional wellbeing in young people.

The Lakeland Book of the Year Awards 2023 was organised by Cumbria Tourism, the official Destination Management Organisation (DMO) for the Lake District, Cumbria.

As well as journalist and head judge Fiona Armstrong, the judging panel included the Director of Wordsworth Grasmere Michael McGregor, author Kathleen Jones, and renowned broadcaster and former Cumbria Tourism president Eric Robson.