Cumbria Tourism Award Winners 2017

Our 15th Cumbria Tourism Awards were held on Wednesday 21st June 2017 at Cartmel Racecourse.

The evening was a huge celebration of the very best of Cumbria’s tourism industry, and nearly 400 tourism businesses and professionals gathered to hear the winners announced.

Comedian Cally Beaton hosted the ceremony which celebrated the huge range and diversity of Cumbria’s tourism industry across 17 award categories.

2017 was another fantastic year for entries with exceptional quality shown across all the categories, proving that Cumbria’s businesses continue to offer exceptional levels of quality, service and care to our visitors.

In addition to the awards, the 2017 Bernard Gooch Tourism Personality of the Year Award was presented to Ian Stephens, Managing Director of Cumbria Tourism, for the outstanding personal contribution he has made to Tourism in Cumbria.

The award presented by Cumbria Tourism’s Executive Committee recognises those who have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the visitor economy and reputation of The Lake District, Cumbria. Recent previous winners include farmer and author James Rebanks, Paul Loftus, the organiser of the annual Fred Whitton Challenge cycling event, the renowned Cumbrian chef Simon Rogan and Nigel Wilkinson, Managing Director of Windermere Lake Cruises.


Entries for the 2018 Cumbria Tourism Awards have opened! Please visit for further details on this year’s categories and application process.

For all our photographs of the night please click HERE.

Follow the awards on Facebook and Twitter

2017 Award Winners

Tourism Experience of the Year    

WINNER Bay Cycle Way, Morecambe Bay Partnership


Tourism Event of the Year

Sponsored by Colourmedia

WINNER Go Herdwick Public Art Trail


Wedding Venue of the Year

Sponsored by Brakes & One Cost

WINNER The Villa Levens

HIGHLY COMMENDED The Daffodil Hotel and Spa, Grasmere


Taste Cumbria Award

Sponsored by Enterprise Answers

WINNER Askham Hall, Askham


Tourism Pub of the Year

Sponsored by Christie & Co

WINNER The Three Shires Inn, Little Langdale


B&B of the Year

Sponsored by Cumberland Business

WINNER The Malabar, Sedbergh


Guest Accommodation of the Year

Sponsored by Lamont Pridmore

WINNER Hazel Bank Country House, Borrowdale


Small Hotel of the Year       

Sponsored by Colliers International

WINNER Cragwood Country House Hotel, Windermere


Large Hotel of the Year

Sponsored by Armstrong Watson

WINNER  The Swan Hotel & Spa, Newby Bridge

2017 Award Winners

New Tourism Business Award      

WINNER Cliffhanger Rooms, Newby Bridge

HIGHLY COMMENDED The Cocoa Bean, Hawkshead


Sheila Hensman Award for Outstanding Contribution to Excellence

WINNER Mel Ibbotson, Leathes Head Hotel, Borrowdale


Sustainable Tourism Award

Sponsored by University of Cumbria

WINNER The Quiet Site, Ullswater

HIGHLY COMMENDED Newlands Adventure Centre, Keswick


Self-Catering Provider of the Year

Sponsored by Out of Eden

WINNER The Halston, Carlisle


Self-Catering Property of the Year

WINNER Hart Barn, Patterdale

HIGHLY COMMENDED Gate House, Coniston


Visitor Attraction of the Year

Sponsored by H&H Reeds Printers

WINNER Mirehouse and Gardens, Bassenthwaite


Large Visitor Attraction of the Year

Sponsored by Burnetts

WINNER Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle


Holiday Park of the Year     

Sponsored by NatWest

WINNER Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, Ambleside


The Bernard Gooch Award for Tourism Personality of the Year

Ian Stephens, Cumbria Tourism MD

Thank you to our 2017 Sponsors

The success of the Cumbria Tourism Awards, now in their 15th year, is due to the support of our sponsors.

We would like to thank our sponsors for making the competition possible again this year.

They include:  Armstrong Watson, Burnetts Solicitors, Chris Brammall Ltd, Christie & Co, Colliers International, Colourmedia, Cumberland Business, Enterprise Answers, H&H Reeds Printers, Lamont Pridmore, Lakeland Chauffeurs, Out of Eden, University of Cumbria, One Cost and Brake, Cartmel Racecourse and Campbell and Rowley’s.

View the 2017 Sponsors